Change is good thing!

September 21, 2008 at 11:53 am | Posted in Quilting | 1 Comment

So, the last time I wrote (which I realize was awhile ago) I mentioned that would be trying my hand at making a baby quilt. Well, I’m happy to say I have actually completed one, though not for a girl as originally intended. The quilt for my friend Johanna’s baby is about halfway completed. My sister Anna came over one evening and saw what I was working on, and asked me to make one for her friend’s shower as well. So, that weekend we went fabric shopping and the whole quilt was finished in about a week and a half.

I wouldn’t really call the pattern my own, because I know millions of people have made this same quilt. But I will say I did the whole thing completely off the cuff. I chose this configuration because I’ve only had my sewing machine for a very short time, and this was about as easy as I could imagine making a quilt without any instructions. I figured out how to make the mitered corners on the binding by watching a few YouTube videos, though I couldn’t quite figure out exactly how to sew the ends of the binding together properly. I’ll work on that more with the next quilt.

The backing was a super soft flannel that will be warm when our cooler months finally get here…whenever they get here….

Mistakes..they are aplenty, but overall I think it came out pretty good, and very obviously handmade. The best thing about this project is that I learned SO much from just this one quilt; from how important proper cutting and measuring is, how the iron really is your friend, to how tricky it is to “stitch in the ditch”.

My sister presented the quilt at her friend’s baby shower this past Thursday and apparantly it was a hit. I’ve even had a request to make another quilt for one of Anna’s co-workers that will be given as a Christmas present. I’m really enjoying my exploration into sewing but just like knitting, being new to a hobby can be overwhelming. There are so many things to learn!

I’ve been thinking a lot about the blog lately and have come to the conclusion that some change is needed. I still love knitting, though it has been scarce lately, but I also love so many other things that I thought maybe I would expand the premise a bit. I feel like knitting has led me into other endeavors, such as sewing, that I’m really interesting in learning more and blogging about. Many of you also might not know that I really love to cook, and I’d also like to share a little more about my adventures in cooking. Along the way, I’m really hoping to improve upon my photography skills, which are currently not that great at all. So, with all of that being said, I hope you will still come by and visit. I have so many ideas for future posts that I’ll have much more to say in the warmer months when knitting might not be on the forefront of my mind.

A few more things I wanted to mention…please stop in and say hi to my friend over at Daily Stitches blog. Reading her blog was one of the things that inspired me to try my hand at quilting.

Again, I am forever inspired by the people who encompass the “blogging community” and nothing could drive this point home more than with what has been happening in regard to the young mom to four children who writes the blog Nie Nie Dialogues. Stephanie and her husband were in a plane crash recently and they are now both recovering. She still remains in critical condition but her blog and story are lovingly updated by her sister at C Jane Enjoy It. What has been so inspiring is how the blog community has jumped in to help with the recovery and have hosted auctions all over the internet that have so far raised well over $100,000. Please check out the links above if you’re interested in reading more about the couple or you want to donate to the recovery fund.

Lastly, I decided that if I’m going to be changing the blog, I should change the name as well. It’s true, this Ingrid does knit, but she does many other things as well and I’m drawing a complete blank for a new name. If anyone has any suggestions, please send then my way. If I decide to use your suggestion, I’ll give credit where it’s due and send something special to you as well.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. that’s a beautiful quilt you have made! you should be very proud!

    I had the same problem when I changed from “kyle knits” to “kylewilliam” for my blog – I decided to make an entire website that shows all the bits of what I might want on the net – images of paintings, faux finishes, knitting, my blog, links to shops (like etsy, etc) – and it is working out pretty well. email me and I’ll be glad to explain what I did to you 🙂

    I think if you want us to help you with suggestions, you might want to give a list of all the things you like and like to do… I picked kylewilliam because it’s my first and middle name … it “flows” and was an available domain! 🙂

    hugs!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

