A thank you, some knitting and an Oscar.

February 25, 2008 at 6:48 pm | Posted in knitting | Leave a comment

I want to start by saying thank you SO much to everyone who left such sweet comments on my last post. We’ll all miss my grandfather but it was really touching to see him buried next to my grandmother. The funeral service was lovely and it was nice seeing family that we hadn’t seen in years, but unfortunate that it was under sad circumstances.

We were away for about 5 days and on the 15 hour drive to and from Pennsylvania I did get a fair amount of knitting done. I have 2 new WIP’s, a scarf and a pair of Fetching that is on my 2008 gift list. I’m nearly ready to start seaming the Celtic tote and am hoping to do so on the weekend. Even more fun was spreading my love of knitting to my sister, Anna. She came over this past Friday evening and asked me to teach her to knit. She is now working on her first garter stitch scarf. Yesterday we went to Joann’s where she picked out 2 pairs of straight needles and some yarn and now she’s very pleased with how well her scarf is turning out. She’s coming over again this Friday to learn to purl, and start a washcloth since she picked up a $2 ball of Peaches and Cream yesterday. Only 3 days in and she’s pretty addicted already…I love it! I’m hoping to have pictures of all of my WIP’s and I’ll see if I can’t get a photo of her scarf too. I can’t wait to see it.

School has been kicking my butt this last week. I’m talking about having spent 9 hours on Saturday and 6 hours on Sunday studying. On Saturday I announced to my hubby Chris that I was quitting school. I rescinded it on Sunday though when I scored a 100% on my first test. Yay! I’ll be SO glad when this Statistics class is over though. It’s exhausting all of my brain power.

I don’t really get into the whole Oscars thing..actually I’m a little jaded about it. There are so many other things more worthy of a big golden statue if you ask me. But still, I love movies and sometimes…just every once in awhile..there are moments that are worth seeing at the Oscars. Both Chris and I watched it this year for one reason. Our favorite movie of 2007 was a little heard of Indie movie called “Once”. The day after we saw it, we bought the DVD of the movie and the soundtrack, and have been a little more than obsessed with it ever since. When Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, real life musicians and the stars, were nominated for best song from a movie, we knew we would be glued to the TV on Oscar night this year. We weren’t disappointed…not only did they perform one of my most favorite songs, but about 5 minutes later they took home the award for it.

So, in lieu of knitting pictures I leave you with this……

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

