Off and Running

January 14, 2008 at 7:10 pm | Posted in knitting | 1 Comment

I don’t know why but for some reason it seemed to me like the start of a new year would involve a little rest time getting over the holidays. You know, a little R&R to get you feeling refreshed as the new year gets into gear. Well I’m still waiting for my down time. Aside from both holidays being mid-work week this year (which I say is against the laws of nature), it’s just been business as usual in regards to work and home. The good news is that at the end of this week my husband and I will be off to Washington to visit his family. I’m really looking forward to the time away from work as well as the time I can devote to knitting. Not to mention I’m cashing in my “Yarn shopping in Seattle” Christmas gift card from my dear husband. I still haven’t narrowed down what shops I’m going to try to hit but I’m sure I’ll have some addresses in my hand before I get on the plane on Friday.

Speaking of knitting, I already have an FO for the year, though it hardly seems like it should count because it was such a fast knit. I completed the flower washcloth made from the lovely aqua, cotton chenile skein my friend Kim sent me from Canada. It’s so soft and squishy and I can’t help but think what a great gift it would make paired with some soap. (must not think about Christmas knitting in January…) I’m currently working on the Celtic Tote from the winter issue of IK. Oh, speaking of IK..I got a subscription this year along with the book The Sweater Workshop for Christmas. The book should be great help when I get around to knitting my first sweater this year.

The next post should include some pictures not only of the washcloth, but hopefully of my new yarn booty from Seattle, a completed or nearly completed tote bag and also the package I got in the mail today from my Christmas Around the World swapper.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Enjoy trip and yarn shopping!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

