A First Year of Knitting

December 31, 2007 at 5:49 pm | Posted in finished objects, knitting | 4 Comments

This has been a wonderful year for me in regards to knitting. In November of 2006 I picked up my first yarn and knitting needles and taught myself a new craft. I started out with a sort of “Ingridized” continental style of knitting and then I was off and running with my first few swatches. My very first project was a Booga Bag, which not only helped me hone my basic knitting skills, it also introduced me to felting. Not one to back down from a challenge I moved on from the Booga Bag to a pair of Twisted Rib socks followed by cableing with the Brea Bag. I think it was right around the time of the Brea Bag that I discovered what wonders lay within the walls of my local yarn store. At that point I realized this was no simple hobby I had picked up.

The owner of my LYS was the first person to explain yarn weights, stitch definition, and fibers to me in a way that made me realize I had more to learn than knit and purl. I moved on from knitting with one color to two, and then to stranded knitting with the Center Square hat and Endpaper Mitts. I finished a pair of Monkey socks , a lace shawl and even learned entrelac.
About the time I realized there was more to knitting than acrylic, I also realized there was an entire community of people I could reach out to for support, advice, knowledge and a common love of all things knitting. Reading knit blogs moved from simple interest to addiction and I found myself swapping knitted items that I had made myself..for another real person to wear! Next came Ravelry and it’s forums and groups, and knit-alongs, and more swaps, and knitting podcasts and before I knew it I had become a part of the community I had previously admired from afar.

So in my first year of knitting I have completed 13 projects and have several on the needles that I hope to move from WIP to FO in the year 2008.

mosaic.jpg
1. Twisted Rib Socks, 2. Brea Bag, 3. Booga Bag, 4. Calorimetry, 5. Baker Boy Cap, 6. Fiber Trends Felts Clogs, 7. Monkey Socks, 8. Center Square Hat, 9. Forest Canopy Shawl, 10. Pine Tree Sachet, 11. Danica, 12. Fiber Trends Felted Clogs, 13. ornament

I have learned so much in my first year of knitting but still have so much yet to learn. I have many knitterly goals for the year 2008 such as:
1. Completing my first sweater
2. Taking a few classes to improve on some of my self taught techniques.
3. Learning to more easily correct my mistakes without ripping all the way back.
4. Tackling a challenging lacework pattern..with beads.
5. Continuing to gain a better understanding about fibers and yarns and definitely expand my stash.
6. Attending a knit-in at my LYS.
7. Giving the blog a new look for the new year.

There’s lots to do but also lots to be proud of over the last year.
Happy New Year to all of my knitting friends!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s been a joy to watch you tackle every new challenge and turn out such lovely work! Here’s to a wonderful 2008 full of great new knitting projects.

  2. Happy New Year Ingrid. I look forward to reading about your achievements in 2008!

  3. wait a sec… first year?! – you are sooo good at everything you have done – I’m really impressed! Tackle that sweater – and swatch swatch swatch (like an 8″ x 8″ swatch) and make it happen – you’ll be amazing at that – I know it (and can’t wait to see you do it!)

    hugs (and Happy New Year!)

    Kyle

  4. That is QUITE a first year – you knit beautiful things, and no, I’d say accomplishing all of that in year one certainly means that you don’t back down from a challenge!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

