Christmas knitting almost done!

December 12, 2007 at 9:50 pm | Posted in finished objects, knitting, swap | 2 Comments

Vacation is officially over and I’ve settled back into work and getting ready for the holidays. I’ve also been working hard to finish knitting for the swaps I’ve joined. Speaking of swaps, today I got my package from the Ravelry Scarf Exchange and it was from my new knitting friend Kim from Canada. She totally spoiled me!

swap.jpg

First off, the scarf was beautiful and it was made out of a lovely bamboo yarn that’s so soft! It’s perfect for Florida wear and I’ve even got a jacket that will match it beautifully. Also in the package was some chocolate from Switzerland that’s really yummy, a vanilla scented candle, some cotton chenille yarn and a pattern for a flower washcloth, a knitting themed notepad, sticky notes in the shape of an “I”, lovely lemon verbena soap and some gummy candies that my husband hasn’t stopped munching on. The best part about this exchange is that she and I have become quite regular pen pals. Thanks so much Kim, I’m so glad we got paired up!

I also completed and sent off my own scarf to it’s recipient, Kyle. He’s already received it so I’m safe to post a picture:

danica.jpg

The pattern is Danica from Knitty and it’s made with Paton’s Classic Merino. The model is my very cute hubby. It was my first try at entrelac and I’m happy with how it came out. I hope Kyle was happy with it as well.

I also finished the sock for the Harvest Sock Swap and mailed it this past weekend. I’m hoping Marisol receives the package by the end of this week. Sadly there will be no pictures of the sock because I forgot to take pictures before I mailed it. Oh well, once Marisol receives it I can reveal the pattern and yarn.

In between the frantic swap knitting I took an evening off and whipped up this little Christmas sachet.

sachet.jpg

It was a really quick knit, maybe a 2 hours from start to finish, and it’s filled with lentils to keep it standing up and apple cinnamon potpourri to give it a Christmasy scent. It was really fun to make and is a great way to use up some leftover sock yarn. I’m hoping I can knit up a few of these for co-workers. I came across the pattern while perusing Lime and Violet’s Daily Chum where it was featured. The pattern was created by Whitney, it’s free, and it can be found here. While you’re at it, take a look at the whole blog. There are tons of really great crafty patterns!

Finally, I have some pictures of the completely blocked Forest Canopy Shawl that is now wrapped and will soon be on the way to my mother-in-law for Christmas. The pictures show the yarn colorway really well.

fc1.jpg

fc2.jpg

With a little luck I’ll be able to finish up the last of the swaps. I still have to finish up the International Christmas Exchange but I’m determined to mail it by Saturday. Once that’s finished, I may be able to get a few sachets completed. I’m afraid I overextended myself in swaps so I think my Christmas knitting has been reduced from a list of about 12 items down to one, the Forest Canopy Shawl I’ve already finished. I have to admit, I’ll be glad once all of my obligations are met because after the holidays I’ve got my heart set on starting this:

celtic_tote.jpg

It’s from the current issue of Interweave Knits and I’m knitting it for myself. I’m also excited because Chris and I booked our tickets to Seattle for January. We’ll be visiting his family and I’m planning on hitting a yarn store or two in Seattle and Tacoma. If anyone has been there, please tell me the best places to go!

Until next time..Happy Holidays!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so glad you like your scarf and the rest of the package! Who knew about your matching jacket? But that’s so cool it does match.

  2. …what’s that guy doing wearing MYYYY scarf?!?!! 🙂 I LOVE LOVE LOVE my scarf – it’s amazing and you did such an awesome job! – I was way spoiled and I’m so pleased –

    thanks 🙂

    Happy Holidays!

    kyle


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

