Vacationing at the Frog Pond

October 21, 2007 at 10:48 am | Posted in knitalong, knitting, lace | 4 Comments

I have spent so much time frogging and re-frogging projects in the last couple of weeks it’s amazing I still have anything left to blog about! Let’s make a list, shall we?

1. Forest Canopy Shawl – I enlisted the use of lifelines for this shawl but why at various points I’m able to convince myself that I can go further before putting them in, I have no idea. The pattern tells you to work until you are at 195 stitches and then start the border. I started getting really confident in my memorization of the pattern so I decided to skip a lifeline (or two) and ended up frogging back 16 rows because I somehow miscounted and lost a couple of stitches. I tried to fudge it a bit and fix it but I was unhappy with the fixes, so I ripped back to the previous lifeline 16 rows back. Then last night I think I ripped out the same 3 rows about 3 times because I kept getting distracted. Thankfully, I am back on track, very close to finishing the body of the shawl. I think I can finish and start blocking this week.

2. SotS – My stole is currently stalled at row 57. I ended up losing a stitch and am stuck debating taking it to the LYS where the owner kindly offered to help me find it..or just ripping back and restarting. I haven’t had time to make it to the LYS so it’s sitting there on the fireplace hearth staring at me and I know it’s saying “please, fix me!” OH, I’ll mention here that I decided to not use the bamboo needles for fear of breaking the fragile, laceweight yarn, and I purchased my first Addi Turbo needle. NOW I understand why when Brenda Dayne mentions her addi’s in the Cast On podcast she plays the sound effect of a light saber from Star Wars. They really are that good! I have visions of conquering the world of lace knitting..just me and my size 4 Addi-turbo.

3. Harvest Sock Swap – Even though a few people have already received their sock packages, I’m still waiting for the yarn to arrive. I’m hoping to be able to start the socks this week! Have pattern, am ready to knit!

4. Ravelry Scarf Exchange – The scarf is pretty much done. I think I can stop with the length as is. It’s over 5 feet long now so all I need to do is bind off and weave in ends. I’ve got some ideas for a few more treats so it should be in the mail soon.

In addition to those 4 projects, I’ve still got the International Christmas swap to work on, not to mention I am really hoping to make a pair of Anemoi mittens for my sister-in-law for Christmas. I think I’m beginning to feel a little bit overwhelmed with all of the knitting I want to finish before Christmas but I am trying hard not to let it discourage or slow me down. Must keep knitting!

One last thing! For all of you wordpress users out there…has anyone else had problems with highlighting or amending your widgets? All of a sudden I can’t highlight to cut and paste in my widgets. I have a few changes I want to make, including changing some of my buttons and adding to my 50 book challenge, but now I am not able to cut and paste. If anyone has a fix, please let me know.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ingrid,
    This is your SOTS calling…, please fix me… LOL

  2. Oh no… Hang in there! It gets tough at time I know!

  3. Wow, sounds like you have a lot of knitting to do! I hope you get everything done, but even if you don’t, most importantly — I hope you enjoy the process of creating!

  4. I love Brenda’s addi turbo noise from Star Wars! She’s taken to using it now when she announces the episode number… I think she just doesn’t have an excuse to talk about addis every episode but loves the noise!

    Ikes… now I’m worried about casting on for my mom’s stole – Sivia Harding’s Gothic Leaf Stole. I will use Lifelines – got it!

    My widgets were being fidgety a couple days ago. If you’re permanently logged in, try logging out and log back in… that worked for me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

