27 rows to go

October 11, 2007 at 9:03 pm | Posted in knitalong, lace | 5 Comments

I can’t believe it’s already the middle of October. It seems like yesterday it was summer and yet this weekend at Lowe’s the Christmas trees were all on display. Where on earth does the time go?

I’ve been spending a lot of my free time knitting..most notably the SotS stole. The first clue was released a week ago along with the first chart. I have to say, this is my first time working solely from a chart, and this is my first try at real lace with laceweight yarn. I’ve been plugging along and learning a lot on the way. The first thing I’ve learned is bamboo straight needles are kind of difficult to work with. The points are perfectly sanded but the needles are very grippy and I’m constantly knitting in fear of breaking the delicate yarn. I’ve also learned how awesome it would be to have one of those nifty magnetic chart readers. My husband made me one out of a Crispix box that’s working ok though. Tomorrow’s clue is about to be released and I’m not quite caught up, but I’m getting there. This is me at row 57:

sots1.jpg

The next time I’ll try to take some better pictures of it but this gives you the gyst of how far along 57 rows is. I worked the left point first and then left it on the needles and worked the right point. It’s been fun to knit so far..I’m still really loving the lace.

The other project that I’ve been focused on over the last 2 weeks is the Forest Canopy shawl. I found a really pretty colorway in Lana Grossa fingering weight yarn and thought it would be perfect.

fcshawl.jpg

I also learned the value of lifelines with both of my lace projects…they really are lifesavers!

In other knitting news…I’ve finally decided on what I’m going to make my Christmas swapee and it involved felting and the color red. I hate to give much more away just yet, but I’m happy to have a plan.

I’ll be ordering the sock yarn for the Harvest Sock Swap this weekend. I’m hoping my order will arrive sometime next week so I can get started on the sock.

I’d better get back to knitting. I was trying really hard to get the SotS stole caught up before midnight tonight because that’s when clue #2 is released. I have 2 hours and 27 rows..I can do it!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.