Bags O’ Knitting

September 26, 2007 at 7:40 pm | Posted in knitting, stash, swap | 6 Comments

I just love seeing how people organize their stash and am always hoping to get some inspiration for my own. The stash set up I most envy is this one. Her set up is beautiful and I’ve already debated whether or not my office was big enough to accomodate those Ikea shelves. I have to admit though, my stash is teeny tiny in comparison to most. The cost of yarn makes it a luxury for me so I mostly have just enough yarn for the projects I am working on. In order to keep my projects from being strewn from one end of the house to the other, I came up with this system:

giftbags.jpg

Green Eddie Bauer = Lace yarn and needles for Secrets stole
Bright Green = Ravelry Scarf exchange scarf
White = Washcloth city
Pink = Forest Canopy shawl
Doggie = Sock yarn and DPN’s for Pomotomus socks
Little flower bag = Harvest Sock exchange socks

It’s kind of simple but it works well. I have plans to eventually knit a bunch of different project bags..maybe like the one in Knitting Daily today.

Speaking of Harvest Sock Swap socks…I finally got my match and will be making a sock for the lovely Marisol. I’m pretty sure of the pattern I’ll be using but now I need to find the perfect yarn.

A really nice knit blog I’ve been reading lately is Lime and Violet’s Daily Chum. I’m sure I’m late in jumping on the L&V bandwagon but if you haven’t read it yet I recommend giving it a visit. There is an interesting little tidbit posted every day.

As far as my own knitting progress goes, I’m still working on the scarf for the exchange mostly. It’s getting pretty close to completion but then I’m in weaving hell. I don’t want to elaborate more because I want it to be a surprise for its recipient, but once he’s received it I’ll post some pictures and you’ll see what I mean. Incidently, if you have a sec take a gander on over to Kyle’s blog. He has an amazing stash!

Lastly, tomorrow night is the Light the Night walk here in Jacksonville for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. I’ve seen first hand what great work they do and I’ll be walking in honor of many children and families I’ve met as a pediatric oncology nurse. If you’d like to learn more, please click on the button on my sidebar or read more on my Light the Night page.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like using bags like that for my OTN projects. But for my stash I use the clear plastic bags that your pillows/bedding/sheets come in from the store. They’re see-thru, zip-up, and just great for storing my stash!

  2. That shelving is gorgeous, isn’t it? I wish I could do that with my stash. How did the walk go?

  3. I know, I love that shelving and she did such a nice job decorating it.
    The walk was fun and went well. I made my goal of raising $100 but I’m not sure what my whole team raised. Thanks for asking!

  4. You are so lucky to be knitting for Marisol – she is sa-weet!

  5. I hope the walk went well. I love the colorful way you stash your yarns. If I hadn’t started knitting/crocheting so long ago, I’d be with you on having only enough on hand for knitting projects — yarn can be so expensive!

  6. I just love project bags too! They are the best way of keeping everything nice and tidy –especially if you are multi tasker:)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

