Christmas Around the World Knitters Swap Questionaire

September 4, 2007 at 7:44 pm | Posted in knitting, swap | 4 Comments

Are you religious?
Well, I think I am in my own way. I do not subscribe to a particular religion but at this stage in my life it’s something I’m sort of searching for and trying to learn a lot about. I would call myself nondenominational Christian.

How long have you been knitting? 1 year
Would you consider yourself a Beginner, Intermediate or Advanced? Intermediate

Do you have any other hobbies besides knitting?
Knitting is really my only real hobby though there are a lot of things that I’m interested in trying.

Favorite color(s)?
I love blues, greens, pinks and earthy tones

Do you collect anything?
Although I’m new to it, I am trying hard to start an Interweave Knits collection. I search everywhere for back issues.

Are you allergic to any fibers or animals? No

Do you have any pets?
One dog named Lucy.

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
Recently Tea! My husband and I are currently dabbling in all different flavors but I still love Chai the most because it’s spicy.

Cookies or Sweets?
I prefer cookies over hard or sugary candy, but I prefer chocolate over everything!

Do you knit socks?
Yes! I love to knit socks!

If not socks then what? (tell us about your favorite knits)
I really like to try new things so I don’t know if I have a favorite thing yet. Most of my knits are more for fun than warmth (I live in Florida) but I do love to make bags and socks. I’m itching to try a sweater because I haven’t tried one yet.

Do you put up a Christmas tree? If not then what do you do? Yes, we do put up a tree. My husband and I have also started an ornament collection in order to start a new family tradition. Whenever we travel somewhere we try to pick up an ornament to remember that place and we started it on our honeymoon. We also get one new ornament a year to commemorate another Christmas as a couple.

Favorite holiday treats? Chocolate!

Favorite holiday smells?
I love the smell of cinnamon at Christmas. I always have some kind of Cinnamon Potpourri on the stove.

Do you celebrate Christmas in a traditional or unconventional way? Please elaborate.
My family is pretty traditional at Christmas. We put up trees, fill stockings, open gifts on Christmas morning.

What are your favorite holiday traditions?
We have many! Every single year, as long as I can remember, my family has been together for Christmas. Now as adults we pick one house to gather at on Christmas Eve for a sleepover and we all get into our pajamas while we watch Christmas movies and wrap presents. Then at about 6:00am my niece and nephew get to wake everyone up (only after they’ve turned on the coffeemaker!) and we open presents. Once presents are opened we have breakfast and then go home to nap. Then, we all meet up again for dinner! Christmas has been the same for years and years, we’ve just added new family members along the way, and I can’t stand the thought of changing it.

Finish the sentence: “For me Christmas is all about….”
Spending time with family.

If you were a Christmas ornament you would be…….?
I think I would be a snowglobe.

What was your favorite gift you’ve ever received? Or given?
About 6 years ago my dad, all on his own, put a digital camera on layaway for me and secretly paid it off and gave it to me. My mom didn’t even know about it until right before Christmas. The fact that he thought specifically about what he wanted me to have and put the effort into getting it (vs. letting my mom do all the shopping like she normally does) was so touching to me. And, last year my hubby got me my first gift certificate to buy knitting stuff..I thought it was very sweet.

When do you start your Christmas?
If you mean shopping, we start around Thanksgiving and yes, I’m one of the crazy women out at 4:00am on Black Friday. It’s another tradition for me, my sister and my mom. We start decorating the weekend after Thanksgiving.

Do you send Christmas cards? Do you make them or buy them?
Last year was the first year I’ve ever sent them because it was my first Christmas married. We made our card with photos on Shutterfly so we did both..made them but also bought them.

What is your favorite Christmas dish?
My sister’s breakfast egg casserole on Christmas morning is my favorite. My favorite Christmas dinner item is my mom’s cranberry sauce with mandarin oranges and walnuts…yum!!

Carolers are at your door. What do you do?
Sing along!

When do you open presents? Christmas eve or Christmas morning?
Christmas morning but on Christmas Eve we have a family white elephant swap so we get to open the swap gift, but you never know if it’s going to be a “gently used” or new item.

Do you celebrate with family or friends or both?
Mostly family but sometimes neighbors come for dinner or dessert.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks so much for sharing Ingrid! What a really thoughtful gift from your Dad! So sweet 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying the swap so far and thanks for filling out your questionnaire!

  2. I am enjoying it and can’t wait to get my swap pal!

  3. Very nice blog!
    You have a wonderful way with words!

    🙂

    BDG

  4. Thanks BDG!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

