Swap-O-Rama

August 31, 2007 at 11:24 pm | Posted in knitalong, knitting, swap | 6 Comments

The last week has actually felt a little cooler than the previous several weeks and so my knitting has perked up a bit. It’s tough to knit with a heat index of 116 outside. But, although it will be warm straight through October or November, I’m unrealistically hopeful that the worst is behind us. My dear Lucy has been enjoying the heat though!

lucyturtle.jpg

She was investigating a turtle that was crawling around our back hill.

So anyway…my recent knitting news..my Knit Picks order came in on Saturday!

knitpicks.jpg

I was extremely happy to add two new books to my knitting library. I very rarely purchase books because they tend to have only a couple of patterns I would use. However I’ve been eyeballing these for a long time and they both have several patterns I’ve added to my ever growing “to do” list. Big Girl Knits also has some really good information on sweater construction which will be great since I’ve not attempted a sweater yet. I also got 2 balls of Knit Picks Dancing and 2 more sets of DPN’s. Now I’ll have the proper DPN’s to start the Anemoi Mittens.

In my last post I mentioned I’d joined a few swaps. Along with the Harvest Sock Swap, I’ve also joined the Ravelry Scarf Exchange. Unlike previous exchanges I’ve joined, this one is not anonymous and it’s up to the swappers to determine the secrecy level of their exchanges. While I’ve already contacted my swap-ee, Kyle, I’ve decided to keep the scarf a secret. I’m itching to post a picture because I’m already a good 2 feet into it, but all I’ll say about it is that I’ve tried a new knitting technique to make it, and I really hope he likes it.

I’ve also joined the Christmas Around the World Knitters Swap. This one should be fun because one of the things you are supposed to send is something that reflects your local Christmas tradition. Our family recipe for Swedish cookies will definitely be included in this package. Christmas is my most favorite time of year so I can’t wait to meet my match and start working on their treats!

Speaking of Christmas, I joined the Christmas KAL in order to try and stay organized with my Christmas Knitting, which is coming along ok. However, I have to take back one completed item from my list. I had originally completed one pair of felted clogs. Unfortunately last night my feet were really really cold so I gifted them to myself! So, I’m back to 0 completed out of 3 sets of clogs.

Lastly and most recently I joined one more KAL I’m probably the most excited about and that is the Secret of the Stole on Yahoo groups. It’s very similar to Mystery Stole 3, which I missed, where small sections of a mystery chart will be released on a weekly basis. It starts on October 5th but signups are currently open if you’re interested. So far the supplies are posted and I’m hoping to pick up some yarn this weekend. This will be my first attempt at lace or a stole so it should be really fun and a great learning experience. Now that I’ve joined so many swaps and KAL’s I’m considering buying a calendar so I can keep up!

Oops…I almost forgot!! One more thing that I joined in on is the Pay It Forward exchange. It’s based on the concept of the movie “Pay it Forward” where acts or deeds of kindness are done without expecting something in return, just passing it on, with hope that the recipients of the acts of kindness are passed on. So here’s how it works. I will make and send a handmade gift to the first 3 people who leave a comment to this post on my blog requesting to join this PIF exchange. I do not know what that gift will be yet, and it won’t be sent this month, probably not next month, but it will be sent (within 365 days) and that’s a promise! What YOU have to do in return, then, is pay it forward by making the same promise on your blog.
Someday I will receive something special from Anne, and now if 3 of you would like to receive something from me, please post your comments and continue the PIF exchange your own blog. Ok, now I definitely DO need a calendar!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Labor Day weekend. Hubby and I are off to the gulf coast of Florida to visit my cousin and her husband. The four of us always have a great time and this time even Lucy gets to come along.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad to have you aboard the Secret of the Stole KAL!

  2. Gosh you’re busy on the ol’ knitting front! How much do you have going on?! Didn’t realise that Florida was so hot at the moment. Could you throw a little of that heat over the pond please? We’ve had a rubbish summer and this afternoon I’ve just had to put a pair of socks on because my feet were cold. Autumn is definitely on its way now.

  3. Those DPNs look really long! Is it an optical illusion or are they that long? I want long DPNs…

  4. Knittingnoob: I think they are 7″ long.

    Vicky: Yeah, I kind of went sign up crazy one night when hubby was at work but I love having lots of projects. If you only knew how many swaps I decided not to do for fear I couldn’t complete them. And yes! a few days last week the weatherman said the heat index was 116! I’m sending you lots of warm sun over the pond! Maybe I should send you a pair of clogs too!

    Nautical Knitter: Thank you! I’m very excited to be taking part!

  5. I can’t blame you on the felted clogs – I’ve wanted some forever myself, and just haven’t had a chance to knit them. I think if I did I might’ve stolen them for myself too! 😀 Hope you have a great weekend trip!

  6. You might be 0 for 3, but I bet your feet are happy!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

