Stalled

August 16, 2007 at 10:42 pm | Posted in knitting, swap | 2 Comments

This week has been very slow on knitting progress. After making some great progress on my Clapotis, I ran out of yarn again and it’s now on the “Stalled WIP” pile. I’m ready to start another pair of slippers but I need to pick up some new yarn so I can change up the colors a bit. I have yarn ready to start on the Anemoi Mittens Christmas project but alas, my printer ran out of ink so when I attempted to print the pattern the charts came up blank. I’ve had an unlucky knitting week!

I have joined a few swaps this week, however. One swap I’m really excited about is the Harvest Sock Swap. Each participant knits one sock then sends the pattern and materials to the recipient to knit the second sock. I think it’s a really great way to solve second sock syndrome..how fun! I hope some of you will join in too!

Off the topic of knitting and onto my second favorite topic…movies! One random bit of info about me is that I am a huge fan of Jane Austen. I’ve read all but one of her books and of course seen every movie adaptation of a Jane Austen novel that I could get my hands on. My favorite of these movies is hands-down the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. It’s about 5 hours long and was originally shown as a mini-series, and it’s fabulous. I first saw it when A&E aired it in 1995 and since then, I have watched it too many times to count, and have already worn through 1 copy and am on my second copy of the film. Of course I also loved Sense and Sensibility, adapted by Emma Thompson (who won an Oscar for it) and also Emma. This weekend my sweet husband took me to see Becoming Jane . It’s really wonderful if you are a Jane Austen fan, but even more endearing to me was the fact that Chris sat in an entire theatre full of women and watched this movie with me. Anyway, I highly recommend it and will be adding it to my Jane Austen collection when it comes out on DVD. Incidently, all of these movies would be great to watch while knitting!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Many knitters are Austen fans. I’m in that group as well. I’ll probably wait and catch the movie on DVD so I can put my feet up and knit while I watch.

  2. I read a novel on holiday called Mr Darcy and Me by Alexandra Potter. It was very light-hearted holiday reading about a girl who fell in love with Mr Darcy on a Jane Austen literary tour in England. You should look out for it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

