Busy as a Bee

July 30, 2007 at 7:09 pm | Posted in finished objects, knitting, socks | 3 Comments

I remember back when I signed up for Sockapalooza how I thought there was SO much time to finish one pair of socks. Yet here we are, only 3 days away from mailing them. It came up so quickly! My Monkey socks are done and I have to concur with everyone else who raved about the pattern. It really was an easy and fun pair of socks to knit. They came out very soft and stretchy, and great for winter wear I think.

donemonkey.jpg

My husband promised me a set of nice wooden blockers but I haven’t picked them out yet so I tried my hand at a coat hangar blocker. Unfortunately I live in a plastic hanger house so all I have is one small blocker. Anyway, I can’t wait to mail the socks out!

Blog posts have been sparse the last 2 weeks because work has been incredibly busy. There were several days where I would either be late coming home from work, or I worked very late on work stuff at home, which didn’t leave much energy or time left over for posting. But..I kept on knitting. On the busy, exhausting nights, my clapotis kept me going. I also have to note that I frogged the dang thing AGAIN about a week and a half ago but I’m now completely caught up and well past where I had been before it was ripped out.

clapotis2.jpg

I’m on the 6th repeat of the dropped stitch section and am still in love with this pattern. It’s been fun trying to figure out how to deal with 2 different dye lots and I noticed there is some pooling but I’m pretty sure the dropped stitches will take care of it.

When I finished the socks, and had been grinding away at Clapotis version 6, I realized that I desperately needed some new projects. So, I grabbed my Christmas Knitting Bonanza list and headed out for some new yarn. I came across Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream yarn so I picked up 3 balls to try my hand at dish/washcloths.

washcloth.jpg

The one pictured is made out of Sugar ‘n Cream cotton worsted in Denim. I also made a washcloth with a frog pattern in the Key Lime Pie color but my mother swiped it yesterday. I can’t believe I’ve never knitted these before. I whipped out 2 of them in one sitting on Saturday night so I’m pretty sure filling the Christmas orders should be a cinch.

Then last night I finally cast on for my first pair of Fiber Trends Felted Clogs. I know the colors are a little odd, but I was interested in seeing what they would look like felted. The sole and trim will be in Patton’s 100% merino in taupe, and you can see the main color of the clog will be the same yarn in the Rosewood colorway. I’ve never felted with Patton’s yarn before so this will be an interesting experiment. I am amazed at how fast these are working up and am hoping to finish them quickly. I have visions of clogs under the tree for everyone!

clog1.jpg

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just wanted to let you know that your socks have been done for a week but I didn’t have the money to send them to you. Now I need the time. I had classes today and I have classes tomorrow so I may not get them out until Wednesday though I will try for tomorrow! I’m sorry. But they will be to you soon! I promise!!! Ooh I’m so giddy.

  2. No worries! I’m excited but patient so don’t stress over it too much. I can’t wait to see who my Sock Pal is!

  3. Well, I’m no one famous that’s for sure. 🙂

    They will definitely go out tomorrow. I just got a little delivery today that has the perfect box for it! I just KNEW there was a reason for tomorrow (Wednesday) and not today. I just KNEW it lol. Yep, tomorrow, tomorrow, I love you tomorrow… Damn it, that songs in my head now. Looking forward to your “They’re here post”! Peace!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

