WIP Queen

May 17, 2007 at 8:20 pm | Posted in knitting | 6 Comments

I hereby from this moment forth crown myself WIP queen. There is just TOO much great stuff out there to knit and I find myself having trouble staying focused on one item long enough to finish it before moving onto the next item. I wouldn’t say I’ve lost interest in any one thing, more like temporarily redirected it. After working several hours on the Endpaper Mitts, I wanted something easy and quick to knit so I pulled out an old skein of yarn and made a Calorimetry in one sitting.

calorimetry.jpg

Then I received my KTE treats in the mail and quickly decided I would use my gifted Artyarn Supermerino in color #108 to start my first (and surely not last) Clapotis.

clapotis2.jpg

I quickly plowed through both hanks of yarn and finally made it to the part in the pattern where I could intentionally drop stitches…

clapotis.jpg

And then I ran out of yarn. So now I’m headed back to the Endpaper Mitts. I also have yarn ready for the start of my Anemoi Mittens which will be my next colorwork project.

BUT, hope for my beloved Clapotis is not lost. I was gifted a Visa Gift card for my birthday (yay!) and will be spending it on more Artyarn and also the yarn for my Sockapalooza Monkey Socks. And THEN I will hopefully make it back to the cat afghan, baby daisy sweater, second striped sock and the felted clog slippers. Maybe I’ll eventually graduate to FO Queen.

Off the topic of knitting and on to the topic of movies. Chris and I rented Pan’s Labyrinth last night and although it’s hard to explain why, I can’t stop thinking about that movie. It’s haunting, beautiful, violent, difficult to watch but even harder to look away and is one of those movies that lingers on your brain. I want to say I loved it, but only those who see it will understand why I can’t. If you aren’t opposed to watching an adult movie with English subtitles (it’s a Spanish film) and aren’t too squeamish, I recommend it highly. It’s R-rated for violence so please don’t watch it with the kids. If you do or have seen it, I’d love to hear what you thought of it so please drop me a comment.
If you’re interested, here are some links:
Pan’s Labyrinth official website
Rotten Tomatoes reviews

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I admire you for being able to keep track of all that you have going. Do you keep notes? I am not good at marking my spot where I left off, and if I have too much going I have no clue where I was. Your clapotis looks great so far! I knitted that a little while ago, and was very pleased with how it turned out.

  2. This is all perfectly normal. I often have several things going at once, usually in the following categories:

    1. TV knitting – easy, mindless, and not something I need to focus on intently (middle aged eyesight makes it tough to look from tv to knitting, even with expensive bifocals!)

    2. Travel knitting – something small enough to fit in the briefcase

    3. INdulgent knitting-something very satisfying like lace or colorwork. More effort and attention required, but much more rewarding to complete than the previous categories.

    Your clapotis is lovely. I wear mine on airplanes sometimes if it’s a little chilly.

  3. I do keep notes. I print out each pattern and write all over it to keep track of where I left off or what section and repeat I’m on.
    I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who moves from project to project. There is some guilt attached..kind of like I’m leaving behind a friend, but I promise to come back!

  4. I was at the yarn store today, and the owner said, it’s better to go back and forth between projects, so you don’t get carpal tunnel or anything! I have so many projects in my brain, I can’t even get them on the needles!

  5. I know what you mean about having lots of different things on the go. I find it hard not to start something new when I see a new pattern I want to try.

  6. I have many projects going at once; I get bored easily and it keeps my brain hopping. Plus, different kinds of knitting are better for different locations, occasions, etc., don’t you think?

    Thank you for your kind comments about my pink baby sweater. My mom’s name is Ingrid, and at first I thought it was she who commented, LOL!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

