Odds and Ends

March 19, 2007 at 5:58 pm | Posted in knitting | Leave a comment

In Knitting news, this weekend I decided to start a new afghan which will be a Christmas present for my sister-in-law. She has 3 cats and I think she will really like this blanket.

blanket.JPG

This project should be a nice, very simple, introduction into using more than one color, and I’ve been very conscientous about checking the gauge. Checking gauge isn’t something I’ve had to do much of but I want to develop good habits. The other nice part about this pattern is that it’s made up of quick little squares that will be perfect for TV knitting, and I have many months to finish it. Incidently, the pattern is out of the Winter 2006/2007 issue of Knit Simple magazine. I also got the Anemoi Mittens pattern from Eunny Jang’s site, and also the pattern for the Endpaper Mitts. I think I’ll do the mitts first with the intention of moving onto mittens second. The mittens pattern looks really complicated but most times, once I read the pattern through, it doesn’t turn out to be as hard as it looks.

I’ve been reading my new “Knitting Rules!” book and already feel like I’ve learned a lot of great little techniques and tips, as well as chuckled at Yarn Harlot’s witty writing. The book is a really fun read.

In other book news, I am happy to be adding book number 5 to my “50 book challenge” list. I finished the second book in the Josephine B. trilogy and the third book came today from my book swap. I can’t wait to dig into it but at the same time I’m sad to see the story coming to an end. Speaking of bookswap (shameless plug coming…), I can’t say enough about how much I LOVE PaperBackSwap.com. I get mostly all of my books from it (for free) and have so much fun sending books out to other people. I’ve sent 9 books out and received 9 books so far, and it’s great to come home to a new book in the mailbox.

P.S. Thanks for the words of encouragement a few of you posted in my comments section. I’m so happy and content with my new hobby that even though it’s frustating at times, it’s mostly because there are so many things I want to knit and create and I just don’t have the skills to do them yet…but I will! I appreciate your taking the time to visit, do come again!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

