New No. 9’s

March 3, 2007 at 4:04 pm | Posted in bags, knitting | Leave a comment

Today Chris (hubby) and I made a quick stop at Michael’s after lunch (sushi!) and I picked up a new long set of US9 straight needles. Now I’m geared up to start on the Brea Bag. I also looked at the yarns to try and pick some colors for my clogs but since I couldn’t find US 13 circular needles in the correct lengths, I’m going to order it all online. I have some time since I’m about to have 2 projects going. I like to have a few things on the needles at once but I’m going to keep it at two knitting projects for now because I’m also working on 2 non-knitting projects.

I was a voracious reader growing up. You could always find me curled up on the couch in our living room with a book in my hand. When I went to nursing school I wouldn’t let myself read for leisure because I believed any free time for reading should be spent reading text books. After nursing school I started out in the hospital working the night shift (7p-7a), and stayed there for 7 years. Anyone who has ever worked the night shift knows that the minute you open a book, you’re out like a light. I was ALWAYS tired, every waking minute. About a year and a half ago I found my dream job, working in the same area, with the same patients and physicians, but in the outpatient clinic. Now I’m 8-5, Monday through Friday, and I have never felt better and my health has never been better. Anyway, the point to this story is that I’ve joined a “50 Book Challenge”. The idea is to read 50 books in one year, and while I know I’ll never make 50 books in a year, I’m trying to jumpstart my interest in leisure reading. Today I’m starting book #4.

My other non-knitting project is a house one. We bought our house 2 and a half years ago and it’s still barely decorated. I just do not have the eye for it. I wish I had that decorator brain, but sadly I don’t believe I do. However, I’m trying to tackle the bedroom. I’ve got big plans (they only took 2 years to formulate) so now I’m going to put them in action as soon as I can decide on the right color blue….

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

