Twisted socks are now a pair!

February 28, 2007 at 11:04 pm | Posted in finished objects, knitting, socks | 2 Comments

I finally finished the socks on Sunday night and they made their debut at work on Monday morning. I’m pretty pleased with the way they came out although I do have one little hole on ankle of one of the socks where I didn’t pick up a stitch. The yarn was really fun and easy to work with with because it’s stretchy and worked up quickly. I also really like the colors because they show through the holes of my crocs. Aside from being the most comfortable work shoes I’ve had, crocs are great because I love multicolored socks with my scrubs.

null

My next project is going to be the Brea Bag, although I’ve loaned my mother my size 10 needles. I taught her to knit and now she’s about 6 inches into her first scarf. Unfortunately, she has my favorite needles and isn’t giving them back anytime soon. I’m going to be making a Michael’s run this weekend to replace them I think. I did start the bag on my size 9’s but they are short needles and I wasn’t able to cast on all 126 stitches with 2 strands and have them fit. So, the bag will have to wait a few days.

Tonight I cast on the first stitches for my next pair of socks. I’m making a pair of Cozy Knit Socks from a pattern I found in my Maran Illustrated Knitting and Crocheting book. I got the book from my mother for Christmas and have gotten some good help from it. It’s extremely well illustrated and has been a good reference for a new knitter. I like the socks because they have a lace pattern on the top of the foot, but the fit in the picture looks a little loose so it’ll be interesting to see how they shape up.

Also, to anyone who reads this, thanks for stopping by! Please leave me a message to let me know you’ve been here. I’m happy to have had you visit!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are so adventurous. I started knitting about three years ago, but only passionately this winter. I am halfway through my first pair of socks, and I’m inspired by your success to keep on and finish despite my errors! I staryed my blog only this week, after having read many, many knitting blogs in search of advice and inspiration.

  2. Keep up the great work! I love ya!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

